Merrie Monarch Festival

23rd Annual Merrie Monarch Winner Highlights [1986]

The winners of the 23rd annual Merrie Monarch Festival are highlighted. The 1986 contest mele are: "Molokaʻi Koa Upuʻupeʻi" for kane division and "The Three Storms of Hina" for wahine division. Featuring the award-winning performances of: Hālau O Ka Ua Kani Lehua under the direction of Kumu Johnny Lum Ho (second place wahine hula kahiko), Keolalaulani Hālau ʻŌlapa 'O Laka under the direction of Kumu Aloha Dalire (first place wahine hula kahiko, second place wahine hula ʻauana), Hula Hālau ʻO Kamuela under the direction of Kumu Paleka Leinaʻala Mattos (first place wahine hula 'auana), Gentlemen of Maluikeao under the direction of Kumu Frank Palani Kahala (second place kane hula kahiko, second place kane hula ʻauana), Men of Waimapuna under the direction of Kumu Darrell Lupenui (first place kane hula kahiko, first place kane hula ʻauana). Miss Aloha Hula, Leimomi Nuʻuhiwa of Keʻala ʻO Ka Lauwaʻe, performs her award-winning hula kahiko.

Languages: English


  • Public affairs

This has been a small clip of the full video available. For more information about this title and the materials associated with it, please contact the archive.