Merrie Monarch Festival

35th Merrie Monarch Festival Hula Kahiko, first hour [1998]

This is the first hour of the broadcast recording of the 35th annual Merrie Monarch Festival hula kahiko competition, hosted by Kimo Kahoano and Paula Akana and with commentary by Manu Boyd. The judges are introduced: Pualani Kanakaʻole Kanahele, Ed Collier, Noenoelani Zuttermeister Lewis, Leinaʻala Kalama Heine, George K. Holokai, Victoria Holt Takamine, Cy Bridges. The 1998 program lineup in this hour for the wāhine division includes performances by: Pukalani Hula Hale under the direction of Kumu Nina Maxwell and Kumu Hiʻilei Maxwell Juan, Hālau Hula Nā Pua Uʻi O Hawaiʻi under the direction of Kumu Etua Lopes. For the kāne division: Kū Kanaka Kāua O Kona under the director of Kumu Jay Jay Akiona, Hālau Ke Kapa Maile under the direction of Kumu Randol Ngum. Also includes performance footage of the Hoʻike night featuring Te Wharekura Kaupapa Maori A Rohe O Rakaumanga.

Languages: English


  • Public affairs

This has been a small clip of the full video available. For more information about this title and the materials associated with it, please contact the archive.